History of Olson Rug of Chicago
Olson Rug Company was established in 1874. The manufacturing mill was located in Chicago at Diversey Ave. and Pulaski. During the war era, when raw material was scarce, people would send in their old wool rugs, rags, clothing etc. and Olson Rug would turn them into a beautiful area rug. The family owned business was "the place" to buy rugs for many years.
Alongside the factory was the renowned Olson Memorial Park. Walter E. Olson built the 22 acre park in 1935. The project took nearly six months to complete. About 800 tons of stone and 800 yards of soil were used for it's construction. Approximately 3,500 perennials were used along with numerous species of junipers, spruces, pines, arbor-vitaes and annuals. The park consisted of a stunning rock garden, duck pond and 35-foot waterfall. Olson Park became a popular spot for family outings. During the first Sunday after it's dedication Olson Park attracted as many as 600 visitors per hour. In 1965, Olson Rug sold it's building to Marshall Fields. In the 1970's the waterfall was turned off and the park dismantled to make room for a parking lot.
Today, Olson Rug & Flooring is a Chicago area 8 store chain who's
main business is retail residential floor covering. The Olson Rug & Flooring sells a wide variety of carpet, custom rugs, hardwood flooring, laminate floors, and vinyl flooring.